Favourites: High End Foundations

Favourite Foundations: High End

Salutations one and all ^^ Hope you are all doing well this fine day (or night)

My apologies for the lateness of this blog post…busy work schedules are evil >.<

As the title suggests, today’s post will be all about my personal favourite foundations on the ”high end” range, so if you have combination skin like myself, hopefully this might be of some help to you. A blog post regarding other skin types will be up in the next few days…so don’t fret ^^.

Ok, so here goes:

First up on the list is Dior Nude Skin Foundation ( Shade 020).This foundation was actually one of the first ”high end” brands I used, and the reason why I liked it so much was it would blended really nicely on my face, it provided really good coverage, and despite being a foundation, It never gave my face that ”cakey” look, even though (on my skin) it gave me a dewy finish. The only ONE downside is that every-time I would remove this foundation with a make-up towelette, a fishy type scent was always left behind. The jury is still out on whether it was just my skin, or caviar was an active ingredient in the foundation. Other than that, if you are looking for a nice dewy foundation that gives a barely there/nude (hence the name) finish, feel free to try this one out. Available in 16 shades

076SkinNude227x297Fr.qxd

Foundation favourite number two is M.A.C Matchmaster Foundation (I’m a NC20). As I stated before, I have combination skin, so, if you have normal/combination skin, this is ideal for you. It’s easily to blend, and coverage is buildable, you can use pretty much anything to apply it, (even your fingers…don’t deny it, you’ve done it before…even I have when I’m in a rush…or just plain lazy). For an airbrushed/flawless finish a sponge or beauty blender is ideal for this, if you want a more buildable coverage, a stippling brush is great for this too as you can control how much you want to put on. The only con is that it does flashback on cameras that are on a flash setting, so do keep that in mind, however, using a bronzer should be able to combat this problem. Available in 14 shades.

mac-matchmaster-foundation-2

Thirdly, is a new one that I’ve just started using, the new Le Teint Touche Eclat by YSL. Being that I am a huge fan of the Touche Ecalt highlighting pen, I thought I would give this a go, as this foundation is supposed to have the properties of the highlighter pen inside the foundation and I have to say it’s doing a pretty good job. It provides medium coverage, and provides a nice even complexion to the skin, which I quite like as I despise having a cake face, or feeling as if my face is drowning in foundation. The foundation itself is lightweight and gives a nice dewy finish, so this would be ideal for normal/combination skin. If you have quite oily skin, I wouldn’t really recommend this may as your face may end up looking like a disco ball (unless of course that is your thing, then by all means, use it). It does however, have a slight perfume scent to it, which you may or may not like, I don’t mind it personally (unlike the bobbi brown foundations which are overloaded with lavender oil) so it’s not too bad, plus the bottle itself is a bit heavy for a foundation so do keep that in mind if you plan to carry this around in your make-up bag. This foundation is available in 22 different shades.

ysl touche eclat foundation promo pic

Thirdly is NARS Matte Foundation. I have heard quite a few positive reviews about this, so naturally curiosity got the better of me (or maybe i was just justifying my excuse to go visit the NARS Counter at my nearby department store…who knows ^^) I decided to go out and get a sample of it in ”Gobi” and I have to say so far, it’s actually not too bad. It manages to even out my skin tone, and if you’re like me and you tend to oil up quite a bit when you’re running around like a headless chicken doing errands, it also helps to control most (maybe about 80%) of the oil/shine I get on my face while still maintaining a nice pretty finish. My only pet peeve is that the actual bottle has a screw on lid, which makes it a bit difficult to control how much you want to use, which can mean if you use this daily, you might end up finishing it earlier than expected. Available in 20 shades.

-!NARS Sheer Matte Foundation Stromboli --image

 

Hopefully this post was of some help to those who are looking to invest in a high-end foundation. If you have any other suggestions of other high-end foundations I should review, feel free to leave it in the comments below, and I’ll go try them out. I will also be doing a recommendation post soon for low-end foundations and what skin types they would be ideal for, which should be up in the next week or so.

Have a great day/night!

*beautyandthreads*

Leave a Reply

